Syd Barrett - Opel

Album cover

  1. Opel (6:28)
  2. Clowns And Jugglers (3:23)
  3. Rats (3:12)
  4. Golden Hair (1:42)
  5. Dolly Rocker (3:49)
  6. Word Song (3:17)
  7. Wined And Dined (3:04)
  8. Swan Lee (Silas Lang) (3:11)
  9. Birdie Hop (2:30)
  10. Let's Split (2:22)
  11. Lanky (Part One) (5:31)
  12. Wouldn't You Miss Me (Dark Globe) (2:59)
  13. Milky Way (3:06)
  14. Golden Hair (1:55)
  15. Gigolo Aunt (Take 9) (4:05)
  16. It Is Obvious (Take 3) (3:41)
  17. It Is Obvious (Take 5) (3:08)
  18. Clowns And Jugglers (Take 1) (3:30)
  19. Late Night (Take 2) (3:19)
  20. Effervescing Elephant (Take 2) (1:27)

EMI, 1988

also by Syd Barrett:

see also... Pink Floyd

This collection of odds and ends from the sessions from Syd's two solo albums was sure to be lapped up by obsessive fans, eager for more voyeuristic insight into the disintegration of his musical brain. It mostly comprises alternative takes of songs on the original albums, which I find to be a pointless, and slightly morbid, milking of the Barrett name. Those seeking a hidden gem from the forgotten genius will probably be disappointed, as most of the previously unreleased songs are just aimless strumming and mumbling. The most interesting is perhaps the "Word Song", in which he flicks through his mental dictionary uttering a stream of words which are far too random for comfort. A sign of a brain with some remarkably twisted neural pathways. I'd also give "Dolly Rocker" a point for the line "she's as cute as a squirrel's nut".

May 5, 2004

4 out of 10

previous | next

purple piano


Atom feed for latest entries

written and maintained by Christopher Jackson