Coldplay - Parachutes

Album cover

  1. Don't Panic (2:15)
  2. Shiver (5:02)
  3. Spies (5:18)
  4. Sparks (3:47)
  5. Yellow (4:28)
  6. Trouble (4:31)
  7. Parachutes (0:46)
  8. High Speed (4:15)
  9. We Never Change (4:09)
  10. Everything's Not Lost (7:15)

Capitol, 2000

also by Coldplay:

see also... Radiohead, Elbow

I was two years late for this one. At the time I never paid Coldplay much attention. All I had heard was the rather catchy, but bland, single "Yellow", and I thought they were a sort of thinking-girl's boy-band, kind of like their contemporaries Travis. So it was enlightening to actually listen to this album from start to finish. One thing that marks me out as an old fart is the lament for the lack of decent singing voices in pop "these days". It's good then to hear Chris Martin produce tingling melodies out of his mouth without appearing to make very much effort. The quality of the songwriting also needs little effort to display - just a strum on an acoustic guitars and the tiniest splashes of electric are all that are needed. Easy listening but solid stuff.

August 12, 2003

8 out of 10

previous | next

purple piano


Atom feed for latest entries

written and maintained by Christopher Jackson