Marillion - Holidays in Eden

Album cover

  1. Splintering Heart (6:44)
  2. Cover My Eyes (Pain and Heaven) (3:50)
  3. The Party (5:30)
  4. No One Can (4:35)
  5. Holidays In Eden (5:26)
  6. Dry Land (4:37)
  7. Waiting to Happen (4:49)
  8. This Town / The Rake's Progress / 100 Nights (11:54)

Sanctuary, 1991

also by Marillion:

see also... Fish, H, Wishing Tree, Genesis, Pendragon, Porcupine Tree, Arena

This surprised a lot of people at the time for its high proportion of straightforward middle-of-the-road pop songs. The first single "Cover My Eyes" has a passable imitation of the U2 guitar style, while Steve Hogarth's voice is reminiscent of Sting on the title track. "No One Can", a simple love song (but for the possibly disturbing line don't worry if they take me away...) got a lot of radio play. "Dry Land", resurrected from Steve's obscure former band, is also simple but beautiful. To complement the sraight singles, there are extended pieces in the more familiar Marillon style - the album opens with the tormented "Splintering Heart", and closes with the urban introspection of "100 Nights".

May 17, 2003

8 out of 10

previous | next

purple piano


Atom feed for latest entries

written and maintained by Christopher Jackson