The Future Sound Of London - ISDN

Album cover

  1. Just a Fuckin' Idiot (5:39)
  2. The Far Out Son Of A Lung And The Ramblings Of A Madman (4:29)
  3. Appendage (2:25)
  4. Slider (7:22)
  5. Smokin Japanese Babe (4:59)
  6. You're Creeping Me Out (6:31)
  7. Eyes Pop - Skin Explodes - Everybody Dead (3:45)
  8. It's My Mind That Works (3:25)
  9. Dirty Shadows (6:15)
  10. Tired (6:31)
  11. Egypt (4:11)
  12. Kai (4:24)
  13. Amoeba (5:20)
  14. A Study Of Six Guitars (4:13)
  15. Snake Hips (5:46)

Astralwerks, 1994

also by The Future Sound Of London:

see also... The Orb, Aphex Twin, Susumu Yokota

In a pioneering use of the early net, this album was taped from performances streamed to various radio stations via ISDN lines. The music is rather less accessible than the brilliant "Lifeforms", but it's still highly complex and imaginative. It's more dark and abstract, with fewer up-front tunes, mainly concentrating on the dense layers of electronic sound. The beats are broad and sweeping, and a huge range of noises (even the occasional frog) are used to create a dark industrial landscape. Some languid jazz even comes to the front of the mix on "The Far Out Son of A Lung" and "Smokin' Japanese Babe". One exception to the no-prettiness rule is the glittering and hypnotic "Eyes Pop, Skin Explodes". But despite the endless variety of sounds they use, the album goes on for too long without a change in the basic mood, so that it doesn't hold the attention as well as it should, or as well as "Lifeforms".

December 15, 2003

7 out of 10

previous | next

purple piano


Atom feed for latest entries

written and maintained by Christopher Jackson