Mike Oldfield - QE2

Album cover

  1. Taurus I (10:16)
  2. Sheba (3:33)
  3. Conflict (2:53)
  4. Arrival (2:48)
  5. Wonderful Land (3:37)
  6. Mirage (4:41)
  7. QE2 (7:38)
  8. Celt (3:06)
  9. Molly (1:15)

Virgin, 1980

also by Mike Oldfield:

Oldfield is still groping around for inspiration on "QE2", but found little here. "Taurus I" seems a thown-together effort, like a prototype for the more fully fleshed-out "Taurus II" from the Five Miles Out album. A bunch of little pieces are of the standard of the singles he had been intermittently putting out in the 70s, that is, fairly inoffensive but throwaway stuff. These tracks, including covers of ABBA and the Shadows, are prettily done but they reveal a lack of original ideas. Although there's flashes here and there, as the title track, of the stronger instrumental music he would do on his subsequent 80's albums. A decent curiosity for collectors but I wouldn't bother otherwise.

July 29, 2004

5 out of 10

previous | next

purple piano


Atom feed for latest entries

written and maintained by Christopher Jackson