Richard Wright - Wet Dream

Album cover

  1. Mediterranean C (3:45)
  2. Against the Odds (3:54)
  3. Cat Cruise (5:07)
  4. Summer Elegy (4:45)
  5. Waves (4:12)
  6. Holiday (6:06)
  7. Mad Yannis Dance (3:09)
  8. Drop In from the Top (3:20)
  9. Pink's Song (3:21)
  10. Funky Deux (4:42)

EMI, 1978

In the late 1970s Pink Floyd were enjoying each other's company less and less. Keyboardist Rick Wright stayed far away from the burgeoning acrimony and spent a lot of this time messing around in boats around the Greek islands. His solo album "Wet Dream", a mixture of piano-led instrumentals and songs, seems like a musical postcard from the sunny Med. Just as David Gilmour was getting back to basics with a plain old guitar rock album, here Wright just writes a bunch of straightforwardly pretty tunes. Baked with his pulsing piano chords and soft synths, they just flow along at an easy pace. There's hints here and there ("Cat Cruise") of the musical flair that Wright brought to albums like "Dark Side of the Moon". But mainly, as he invites us to "come, let's take a holiday", it's an honest piece of mellow escapism from the stadium excesses of Floyd.

September 22, 2004

6 out of 10

see also...

previous | next

purple piano


Atom feed for latest entries

written and maintained by Christopher Jackson