Cocteau Twins - The Pink Opaque

Album cover

  1. The Spangle Maker (4:41)
  2. Millimillenary (3:41)
  3. Wax and Wane (3:52)
  4. Hitherto (3:53)
  5. Pearly Dewdrops' Drops (4:12)
  6. From the Flagstones (3:40)
  7. Aikea-Guinea (3:59)
  8. Lorelei (3:44)
  9. Pepper-Tree (4:00)
  10. Musette and Drums (4:36)

4AD, 1984

An early compilation of Cocteau Twins singles, album tracks and rarities. It shows a nice range of the stuff they did in the early days, starting from the lo-fi ethereal punk of "Wax and Wane". Their more familiar style, which they were to polish to perfection through the 1980s, is introduced here on early singles like "Pearly Dewdrops' Drops", "The Spangle Maker" and "Hitherto". Liz Fraser's intricate vocals, untroubled by the constraints of language, are coupled ideally with Robin Guthrie and Simon Raymonde's backdrop of chiming and fuzzy guitar sounds. Their more gothic tendencies are also shown here by a couple of outstanding album tracks. "Head Over Heels" is represented by the intense "Musette and Drums" and "Treasure" by the shuffling, breathless "Lorelei". In all, it's a good introduction for casual listeners, and rare tracks like "Millimillenary" and "Pepper-Tree" make this compilation worth it for fans.

September 23, 2004

7 out of 10

previous | next

purple piano


Atom feed for latest entries

written and maintained by Christopher Jackson