Led Zeppelin - Houses of the Holy

Album cover

  1. The Song Remains The Same (5:28)
  2. The Rain Song (7:38)
  3. Over The Hills And Far Away (4:52)
  4. The Crunge (3:19)
  5. Dancing Days (3:46)
  6. D'yer Mak'er (4:22)
  7. No Quarter (7:09)
  8. The Ocean (4:31)

Atlantic, 1973

A hit and miss follow-up to the revered "four symbols" album. The misses here include a drippy reggae-pop piece "D'Yer Mak'er", the godawful messy funk of "The Crunge", and some rather bland filler including "The Ocean" and "Dancing Days". But the hits more than make up for these. It starts off strongly with the energetic strumming riffs of "The Song Remains the Same", followed by the beautiful atmospheric ballad "The Rain Song. "No Quarter" is a broad and powerful anthem, showing that so-called "dinosaur-rock" music is what they do best.

April 11, 2004

6 out of 10

previous | next

purple piano


Atom feed for latest entries

written and maintained by Christopher Jackson