Peter Gabriel - Peter Gabriel 2 (Scratch)

Album cover

  1. On the Air (5:32)
  2. D.I.Y. (2:38)
  3. Mother of Violence (3:22)
  4. A Wonderful Day In A One-Way World (3:35)
  5. White Shadow (5:18)
  6. Indigo (3:32)
  7. Animal Magic (3:29)
  8. Exposure (4:16)
  9. Flotsam and Jetsam (2:22)
  10. Perspective (3:27)
  11. Home Sweet Home (4:39)

Virgin, 1978

also by Peter Gabriel:

see also... Genesis, Kate Bush, Robert Fripp

The least well-known and the weakest of Gabriel's solo albums. Mostly perky, dated-sounding 70s pop with unmemorable tunes. Although there are three decent songs. "Mother of Violence" has a strong lyric and delicate tinkly guitar and piano. "White Shadow" has two memorable themes with shimmering synths. The album was produced by Robert Fripp, but "Exposure" is the only track that's obviously shows his signature. With washes of guitar and synth over a grinding beat, Fripp also used this track as the title track of his solo album of around the same time.

See also for a comprehensive essay.

September 22, 2003

5 out of 10

see also...

previous | next

purple piano


Atom feed for latest entries

written and maintained by Christopher Jackson