Peter Gabriel - Peter Gabriel 4 (Security)

Album cover

  1. The Rhythm Of The Heat (5:16)
  2. San Jacinto (6:22)
  3. I Have The Touch (4:37)
  4. The Family And The Fishing Net (7:01)
  5. Shock The Monkey (5:25)
  6. Lay Your Hands On Me (6:07)
  7. Wallflower (6:31)
  8. Kiss Of Life (4:14)

Virgin, 1982

also by Peter Gabriel:

see also... Genesis, Kate Bush, Robert Fripp

Peter Gabriel 4 is a refinement of the slick, rhythm-based sound he developed on his successful third album. It's a firmly early 80's style but still sounds fresh and inventive, with some particularly cool drumming from Talking Heads' Jerry Marotta. Even if the songs are slightly more stiff than those of Talking Heads or their arty contemporaries King Crimson. The poppiest thing here is "Shock The Monkey", a funky precursor to "Sledgehammer". The first two songs are dynamic and powerful - "Rhythm of the Heat" starts off austere and ominous but lets go at the end with a torrent of African drumming. "San Jacinto" builds up to a wonderful broad arching chorus. Most of the rest of the songs have that jerky 80's feel. "Wallflower" has an attractive tune, even it sounds like what former bandmates Genesis were doing at the time.

See also for a full essay.

October 13, 2003

7 out of 10

previous | next

purple piano


Atom feed for latest entries

written and maintained by Christopher Jackson